Sesame Seared Tuna with 5 Spiced Apricot Sauce, Garlic Ginger Broccoli


IMG_0157

I must admit, sauces intimidate me. I grew up in the land of gravy, and it’s taken me quite a while to perfect my wine reduction sauce and bechamel, which are really the only sauces I make. Well, I throw together a pretty mean Italian style meat or marinara sauce like most home cooks, but I’m the worst about developing a sauce to really bring my dishes full circle. Everytime I look at one of my sauceless plates I think, “Gurl you just got chopped!” It’s something that’s been nagging at me to start practicing.

While out hiking a couple mornings ago, it suddenly occurred to me that an apricot sauce would be delicious paired with seared tuna. I have a jar of dried apricots sitting pretty on my pantry shelf that’s been begging for me to do something with it for months now. So I set my fears aside and developed this recipe. The wife absolutely loved it and I have to agree that the sauce turned out pretty amazing. The tuna and broccoli were quite good too, but really you could put this sauce on boot leather it would taste heavenly. With three sauces now added to my recipe collection, I’m excited to practice more.

Sesame Seared Tuna with 5 Spiced Apricot Sauce

Ingredients:

2 sm Tuna steaks

1 tsp Toasted Sesame Oil

1 to 2 tbsp Cornstarch

1 to 2 tbsp Black Sesame seeds

2 tsp Low-Sodium Soy sauce, 1 tsp reserved

1/2 cup Dried Apricots, chopped

1 Reed’s Hard Ginger Beer

1 cup Chicken or Vegetable stock

1 clove Garlic, minced

1/4 tsp minced Fresh Ginger

1 to 2 dried de arbol chilies, optional

1/4 cup Sweet onion, diced

3 to 4 tbsp Chinese 5 Spice powder, or to taste

1/4 tsp Raw Sugar, or to taste

Salt and Black pepper to taste

Method:

For the sauce – in a med sauce pan over med high flame, add the Ginger Beer, diced onion, ginger, garlic, dried chili (if using), and the chopped apricots. Bring to a boil, reduce flame to low, and simmer until the apricots are tender, about 10 to 15 minutes. Add in the cup of stock, Chinese 5 Spice, 1 tsp Soy Sauce, and raw sugar. With an immersion blender, puree the sauce until very smooth. Continue to simmer the sauce until it reduces to your desired consistency. Salt and pepper. Taste and adjust seasoning as needed. Serve with fish, poultry or pork.

For the tuna – evenly coat the tuna steaks with Toasted Sesame oil and 1 tsp Soy sauce. Allow to marry at least 10 minutes. Preheat a nonstick skillet over med high flame. In a shallow dish, add the cornstarch and black sesame seeds. Coat the tuna on all sides in the cornstarch sesame mixture. Once the skillet is hot, sear the tuna on all sides 1 to 3 minutes. Vary the cooking time based on the thickness of the steaks and your desired doneness. Remove from pan and allow the tuna to rest about 5 minutes. Slice and serve with 5 Spiced Apricot sauce.

Garlic Ginger Broccoli

Ingredients:

2 cups Broccoli florets, trimmed

1 clove Garlic, minced

1/2″ Fresh Ginger, minced

1 tsp Low-Sodium Soy sauce

Coconut Oil nonstick spray

Salt and Black pepper to taste

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small prep bowl, whisk together the soy sauce, garlic, and ginger. Add broccoli to a roasting pan and pour the garlic ginger soy sauce over the florets. Mix the florets and flavored soy sauce until florets are well coated. Generously spray the florets with Coconut Oil nonstick spray then salt and pepper, tossing the florets once more. Roast the broccoli in the oven about 30 minutes, or until the florets just begin to caramelize but are still firm. Serve immediately.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks so very tasty. Love the five spice mix with the apricot sauce. 🙂

    Like

    1. Tiffany says:

      Yes, I was very nervous trying it out but it was really good and I think pretty versatile too. Thx!! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks great! Stopped by to say thanks for the follow over at Kitchen With Keri. ❤ Question, what immersion blender do you use to make this sauce? I'm thinking about getting a new one. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tiffany says:

      Kitchen Aide, and I use it nearly every day so totally worth the investment. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

