Orange Ginger Salad with Sesame Shrimp


IMG_1604

After the wife and I hiked the roughly 6 mile Orange Trail at the Fair Hill NRMA we could not stop thinking about dinner. We are beginner hikers and the trail took us about 3 hours to complete. We got home, stretched, and cleaned up and then I went to work in the kitchen. I love gulf shrimp and am pretty picky about fish and seafood in general. The shrimp at Redner’s employee owned grocery not too far from me is pretty fabulous and so I usually buy my fish and seafood there. We also picked up wonton strips and a bottle Makoto Orange Ginger dressing. I’m not one to mix too many sweet notes into my cooking but I do aim to please whenever a request is made. So this salad has a bit of spice and a good punch of sweetness from the sliced oranges. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved this salad and am grateful that my spouse helps pull me out of my comfort zone.

Orange Ginger Salad with Sesame Shrimp

Ingredients: serves two

2 to 3 cups FWFF organic Gourmet Lettuce, washed and chopped

1 lb Shrimp, shells removed and deveined

1 tsp Makoto Orange Ginger Dressing, or dressing of choice

1/4 cup crisp Wonton Strips, optional

1 tbsp Toasted Sesame Oil

1 tsp low sodium Soy Sauce

1/4 tsp Spicy Chili Crisp oil, optional

 

1/2 cup Broccoli and Cauliflower florets

1/2 a fresh Orange, chopped

2 to 3 FWFF organic Radishes, sliced into matchsticks

about 2 tbsp slivered Almonds, toasted

Coconut Oil Nonstick Spray

Salt and Pepper to taste

 

 

Method:

In a prep bowl, toss the shrimp with the sesame oil, soy sauce, salt, pepper, and spicy chili crisp oil, if using. Set aside. Heat a cast iron grill pan over a med high flame and lightly coat with nonstick cooking spray. When the grill pan is hot, sear the shrimp on both sides until the shrimp are just cooked through, about 5 to 10 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside. Divide the lettuce into two large salad bowls then toss with a tsp of the dressing, adding more or less dressing as desired. Top the dressed salad with the sesame shrimp, florets, oranges, radishes, wonton strips, and toasted almonds. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

